Dennis Covington & Mark Spano - Book Signing & Reception with Escape to Create

  • 25 Jan 2018
  • 6:00 PM - 9:00 PM


  • This registration type is for General Admission to the January 25, 2018 Book Signing & Reception.
  • This registration type is for General Admission to the January 25, 2018 Book Signing & Reception (Seaside Institute Members Only)

Registration is closed

We proudly present
Escape to Create Authors, Dennis Covington and Mark Spano 

Book Signing, Conversation & Reception 
Thursday, January 25
Assembly Hall
168 Smolian Circle 
Santa Rosa Beach, FL 32459

Tickets are $20 at the door or online
Proceeds benefit both Escape to Create and Seaside Institute 

Alabama author DENNIS COVINGTON is revered for his deep understanding of the idiosyncratic South and for finding substance in places where cultures collide and people are living on the edge.  The author of six books, Covington’s best-known work, Salvation on Sand Mountain: Snake Handling and Redemption in Southern Appalachia, was finalist for the 1995 National Book Award.

Redneck Riviera: Armadillos, Outlaws and the Demise of an American Dream, is a comic and tender tribute to his father that provides a ”...brilliant look at the clash of values that is tearing apart much of rural America.” (Publisher’s Weekly). 

Revelation: A Search for Faith in a Violent Religious World, is a fast-paced memoir of his journeys through violent domains in Mexico, Turkey and Syria while on a quest for “the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen.”    


Awarded writer and filmmaker MARK SPANO's fiction, poetry and criticism have appeared in over 40 national publications. At age 66 Spano created his own publishing company and published his first mystery/crime novel Midland Club.  The 120-page knotted tale of corruption, lies and murder set in Middle America during the 1950’s received unexpected critical praise and continues to attract a passionate readership in the genre of noir fiction. The book received a Pinnacle Book Achievement Award from the National Association of Book Entrepreneurs in 2017, one of only two new novels honored in the mystery category.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software